Academy Council and Governance

Our Academy Council
We are an academy school and part of the Acorn Education Trust. Please click on the link below to the Governance Page of the Acorn Education Trust, where you will also find:
  • Membership and meeting attendance of our own Academy Council
  • The register of business and pecuniary interests

The Academy Council is made up of representatives from the Diocese, Acorn Education Trust, parents, staff and our local community, all of whom donate their time and expertise freely for the benefit of the school. Each Academy Councillor brings something different, whether that is educational, professional or spiritual.

The Academy Councillors are responsible for the overall strategic direction and focus of the school. They are not responsible for the day-to-day running of the school, which rests with Miss Elson, our Head Teacher, and her staffing team. The Academy Council approve school policies and procedures; they ensure the curriculum is taught to all children to the highest standard and that the children can learn in a clean and safe environment; they also act as a “critical friend” to the Head Teacher. They offer support and advice, but where necessary they also challenge and ask questions that parents would want them to be asking.

The Academy Council meet 4 times per year. Every representative, where possible, attends these meetings which usually last 2-3 hours. There are agreed Terms of Reference which set out the responsibilities for the Head Teacher, Academy Council and Acorn Education Trust.

In addition to this, each member of the Academy Council has at least one specific area of responsibility which might be a curriculum area, or a key aspect of school life such as SEN. They will work closely with the relevant staff member throughout the academic year, reporting back to the Full Academy Council.

If you would like to find out more about the Academy Council and even consider becoming a member, please feel free to speak to any of our representatives at anytime, or contact our chair person, Mr Tom Hartshorn, through the school office.

  • Sue Bale

    Interim Chair of Academy Council

  • Mrs Anna Tattersall

    Associate Member

    Lead Safeguarding Governor

  • Mrs Simone Bennett

    Academy Council Member


  • Mr Tom Hartshorn

    Academy Council Member


  • Mr Adrian Williams

    Staff Academy Council Member

  • Miss Laura Williamson